Previous versions of the Apple TV remote were powered by one round lithium 3V coin battery that could go years without replacing. This was due to its limited functionality compared to the new one. The new remote has a new touchpad with more sensors that allow more control of the tvOS interface. It also has a microphone for Siri voice search and control. These additional features come in handy while enjoying your entertainment, but it also means you need to charge it up from time to time. And, no, you can’t just replace the battery in the Siri remote.

Check the Battery Level of Apple TV Siri Remote

To check the battery charge level of your Siri remote, go to Settings > Remotes and Devices > Remote.

On the following screen, you will see the Battery Level percentage. In this case, it’s well charged up (99%) since it needed it.

I would think the Apple TV could notify me when the remote battery charge is low like the Roku does. But I haven’t ever seen anything like that pop up on my screen (but perhaps I’ve never paid attention).

Charge the Apple TV Siri Remote

To charge it up, you can plug it into your computer with the included Lightning to USB cable. According to Apple’s Support page, the Siri Remote takes up to 2 ½ hours to fully charge. But in my experience, it seems only to take an hour or so when plugged into a wall outlet with the Apple USB Power Adapter that came with my iPad.

Do you have the 4th Generation Apple TV with a Siri Remote? Have you ever completely drained its power? Leave a comment below and tell us your story. I’m thinking that the Apple TV remote part of it uses Bluetooth or WiFi or whatever whereas the TV volume control part still uses IR to transmit. It must’ve had enough juice for the basic IR transmission but not the fancy stuff. Problem solved. FYI last night I got a notice on my screen telling me that my remote was low on power, 20% to be exact. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

How to Check the Battery Level of Your Apple TV Siri Remote and Charge it - 98How to Check the Battery Level of Your Apple TV Siri Remote and Charge it - 91How to Check the Battery Level of Your Apple TV Siri Remote and Charge it - 77How to Check the Battery Level of Your Apple TV Siri Remote and Charge it - 45How to Check the Battery Level of Your Apple TV Siri Remote and Charge it - 82How to Check the Battery Level of Your Apple TV Siri Remote and Charge it - 77How to Check the Battery Level of Your Apple TV Siri Remote and Charge it - 29