Using Paint 3D is like migrating to a foreign country, learning the laws of the land and how to communicate. The interface is strikingly different, and there are some minor differences like performance; opening a file and even launching the app which is not instantaneous. For me personally, and possibly some of you, I prefer to have our cake and eat it too. So, although I’ll still play with the new Paint 3D, let me show you how to get back the classic Paint app.

Bring Back the Old Paint App in Windows 10

Initially, I tried finding the classic Paint app using Search, the Run command and even browsing the System 32 folder. Every attempt at launching it opened the new 3D Paint app instead. With a little investigation, I discovered Microsoft chose to hide the old Paint app. In order to get it back, you will need to modify some registry keys so don’t forget to backup your registry before walking through the steps below. The new Paint 3D app has a lot of potentials, but right now, it’s messing with my workflow; basic tasks like resizing photos, cropping, saving, and opening are just a little too awkward or hard to find. If there are three apps I would like to see remain untouched in Windows, they are WordPad, Paint, and Notepad. For more robust, creative needs, it will be great to have Paint 3D as an alternative. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

How to Restore Classic Paint App in Windows 10 - 74How to Restore Classic Paint App in Windows 10 - 38How to Restore Classic Paint App in Windows 10 - 97How to Restore Classic Paint App in Windows 10 - 39How to Restore Classic Paint App in Windows 10 - 27How to Restore Classic Paint App in Windows 10 - 29How to Restore Classic Paint App in Windows 10 - 27How to Restore Classic Paint App in Windows 10 - 38